Uniper Rhein Marathon - 24.04.2022 Empower your run Register now here!

*Press release, November 19th, 2021*

Uniper to become title sponsor of Düsseldorf Marathon from 2022 onwards

Uniper is once again intensifying its commitment in the state capital. In the presence of Bob Verbeeck, Managing Director of rhein-marathon düsseldorf GmbH, METRO’s Chief Financial Officer Christian Baier and Düsseldorf’s Lord Mayor Dr. Stephan Keller, Uniper CEO Prof. Dr. Klaus Dieter Maubach signed the cooperation agreement. Uniper has thus extended its previous marathon premium partnership to become the title sponsor of one of Germany’s largest running and sporting events in Düsseldorf.

 

Uniper CEO Klaus Dieter Maubach says: “At Uniper, health promotion, company health management, endurance and fairness are central companions of the company’s daily routine. The Düsseldorf Marathon is a supra-regional sports event with special appeal – right on our doorstep. I am very impressed by the enthusiasm, fitness and sportsmanship of the participants. In past years, hundreds of Uniper employees who were enthusiastic about running have also completed various distances.”

 

“The Kids Cup is also particularly close to my heart. The youngest children suffered particularly during the COVID-19 pandemic due to school closures, cancelled sports lessons and missing hours with friends at the sports club. With the Kids Cup, children also have the opportunity to participate in a major sporting event. Because it is much easier to train with a clear goal in mind. We were therefore happy to make the decision to become even more involved and to take over the baton of title sponsorship from the international retail company METRO AG.”

 

Dr. Stephan Keller, Lord Mayor of the City of Düsseldorf, says: “The Düsseldorf Marathon is a traditional event in the state capital and has been firmly anchored in the city’s event calendar since 2003. With around 400,000 visitors every year, 20,000 participants, many of them with company relay teams, and its numerous music acts on the stages along the route, the marathon is a wonderful combination of sporting event, corporate event and family celebration. I sincerely thank METRO for its support in the past and Uniper for its commitment in the future.”

 

Bob Verbeeck, Managing Director of rhein-marathon düsseldorf GmbH explains: “With around 20,000 participants, the marathon in Düsseldorf is one of the largest running events in Germany. We are glad to have a new strong partner at our side in Uniper, which enables us to continue the past and very successful years with METRO as title sponsor. What could be better in sports than a smooth handover of the baton?”

 

METRO CFO Christian Baier says: “We look back on our involvement with the Rhine Marathon with great satisfaction. Over this long period of time, METRO has supported the marathon both financially and with the enthusiasm of our many hundreds of runners each year. Now is the right time to pass the baton. However, with our employees from numerous countries who enjoy running, we will remain loyal to the Rhine Marathon in the future and wish Uniper every success as the new title sponsor! ”

 

About Uniper

Uniper is an international energy company with around 12,000 employees in more than 40 countries. The company plans to become CO2-neutral in European power generation by 2035. With around 35 gigawatts of installed capacity, Uniper is one of the world’s largest power producers. Uniper’s core activities include power generation in Europe and Russia as well as global energy trading, and a broad gas portfolio that makes Uniper one of the leading gas companies in Europe. Uniper turned over a gas volume of more than 220 bcm in 2020. Uniper is also a reliable partner for municipalities, municipal utilities and industrial companies in planning and implementing innovative, CO2-reducing solutions on their way to decarbonizing their activities. As a pioneer in the field of hydrogen, Uniper is active worldwide along the entire value chain and implements projects to make hydrogen usable as a mainstay of energy supply.

The company is headquartered in Düsseldorf and is currently the third-largest listed German energy utility. Together with its main shareholder Fortum, Uniper is also the third largest producer of CO2-free energy in Europe.

Marathon Half Marathon Relay Kids Cup

Uniper Rhein Marathon - 24.04.2022 Empower your run Registriere dich jetzt hier!

*Pressemitteilung, 19. November 2021*

Uniper wird Titelsponsor des Düsseldorf Marathon ab 2022

Uniper intensiviert erneut sein Engagement in der Landeshauptstadt. Im Beisein von Bob Verbeeck, Geschäftsführer der rhein-marathon düsseldorf GmbH, dem Finanzvorstand der METRO, Christian Baier und Düsseldorfs Oberbürgermeister Dr. Stephan Keller, unterzeichnete Uniper CEO Prof. Dr. Klaus Dieter Maubach den Kooperationsvertrag. Uniper hat die bisherige Marathon-Premiumpartnerschaft damit ausgeweitet und wird damit Titelsponsor eines der größten Laufveranstaltungen in Deutschland und Sportevents in Düsseldorf.

 

Uniper CEO Klaus Dieter Maubach sagt: “Bei Uniper sind die Gesundheitsförderung, das betriebliche Gesundheitsmanagement, Ausdauer und Fairness zentrale Begleiter des Unternehmensalltags. Der Düsseldorf Marathon ist ein überregionales Sportevent mit besonderer Anziehungskraft – direkt vor unserer Haustür. Die Begeisterung, die Fitness und der Sportsgeist der Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer beeindrucken mich sehr. In den zurückliegenden Jahren haben auch hunderte laufbegeisterte Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter von Uniper verschiedene Strecken absolviert.“

 

„Besonders am Herzen liegt mir auch der Kids Cup. Die Kleinsten haben durch Schulschließungen, ausgefallener Sportunterricht und die fehlenden Stunden mit Freunden im Sportverein während der COVID-19 Pandemie besonders gelitten. Mit dem Kids Cup gibt es auch für Kinder die Möglichkeit an einen sportlichen Großereignis teilnehmen zu können. Denn, mit einem klaren Ziel vor Augen trainiert es sich deutlich leichter. Die Entscheidung uns noch stärker einzubringen und den Staffelstab des Titelsponsorings vom internationalen Handelsunternehmen METRO AG zu übernehmen, haben wir deshalb gerne getroffen.”

 

Dr. Stephan Keller, Oberbürgermeister der Stadt Düsseldorf sagt: „Der Düsseldorf Marathon ist eine Traditionsveranstaltung in der Landeshauptstadt und seit 2003 fest im Eventkalender der Stadt verankert. Mit den jährlich rund 400.000 Besuchern, den 20.000 Teilnehmenden, viele davon mit Firmenstaffeln, und seinen zahlreichen Musik-Acts auf den Bühnen entlang der Strecke, ist der Marathon eine wunderbare Verbindung von Sportveranstaltung, Firmenevent und Familienfest. Ich bedanke mich ganz herzlich bei der METRO für ihre Unterstützung in der Vergangenheit und bei Uniper für das Engagement in der Zukunft.“

 

Bob Verbeeck, Geschäftsführer der rhein-marathon düsseldorf GmbH erklärt: „Mit rund 20.000 Teilnehmern gehört der Marathon in Düsseldorf zu den größten Laufveranstaltung Deutschlands. Wir sind froh, dass wir mit Uniper einen neuen starken Partner an unserer Seite haben, der es uns ermöglicht, an die zurückliegenden und sehr erfolgreichen Jahre mit der METRO als Titelsponsor anzuknüpfen. Was kann es im Sport besseres geben, als eine reibungslose Staffelstabübergabe.“

METRO CFO Christian Baier sagt: “Wir schauen sehr zufrieden auf unser Engagement beim Rhein Marathon zurück. Die METRO hat über diesen langen Zeitraum den Marathon sowohl finanziell als auch mit der Begeisterung unserer vielen Hundert Läufer jedes Jahr unterstützt. Jetzt ist der richtige Zeitpunkt für den Stabwechsel. Mit unseren lauffreudigen Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeitern aus zahlreichen Ländern bleiben wir dem Rhein Marathon jedoch auch in Zukunft treu und wünschen Uniper als neuem Titelsponsor viel Erfolg! “

 

Über Uniper

Uniper ist ein internationales Energieunternehmen mit rund 12.000 Mitarbeitenden in mehr als 40 Ländern. Das Unternehmen plant, in der europäischen Stromerzeugung bis 2035 CO2-neutral zu werden. Mit rund 35 Gigawatt installierter Kapazität gehört Uniper zu den größten Stromerzeugern weltweit. Unipers Kernaktivitäten umfassen sowohl die Stromerzeugung in Europa und Russland als auch den globalen Energie­handel, sowie ein breites Gasportfolio, das Uniper zu einem der führenden Gasunter­nehmen in Europa macht. Uniper setzte 2020 ein Gas-Volumen von mehr als 220 bcm um. Uniper ist zudem ein verlässlicher Partner für Kommunen, Stadtwerke und Industrieunternehmen bei der Planung und Umsetzung von innovativen, CO2-mindernden Lösungen auf ihrem Weg zur Dekarbonisierung ihrer Aktivitäten. Als Pionier im Bereich Wasserstoff ist Uniper weltweit entlang der kompletten Wertschöpfungskette tätig und realisiert Projekte, um Wasserstoff als tragende Säule der Energieversorgung nutzbar zu machen.

Das Unternehmen hat seinen Sitz in Düsseldorf und ist derzeit das drittgrößte börsennotierte deutsche Energieversorgungsunternehmen. Zusammen mit ihrem Hauptaktionär Fortum ist Uniper außerdem der drittgrößte Erzeuger CO2-freier Energie in Europa.

Marathon Halbmarathon Firmenstaffel Kids Cup